house rules

DM is always right… sometimes…

  • To start off, I just want to mention that if a mistake is made by the DM, it is acceptable to point it out. Keep in mind, however, that it is the DM’s right to concede or defend his/her previous decision.

As far as crits are concerned…

critical successes

  • If a character rolls a crit (20 on d20) on an attack roll, they automatically do maximum damage to the target(s).
  • crits on skill checks, or any other checks, do not accrue automatic success, but the DM may implement a bonus depending on the situation.

critical failures

  • should a character roll a critical failure (1 on d20) on an attack roll, it accrues an automatic miss, and possible detriments depending on the situation. (i.e. Granting combat advantage, taking damage, losing surge, ECT.)
  • if a critical failure is rolled for a skill check, it is an automatic failure, unless otherwise stated by the DM.

Dice rules

  • If the die rolls off the table, the result is void and the die is rerolled.
  • If anyone interferes with the die while it rolls or after, the result is invalid and must be rerolled.
  • Dice must be fair (duh)

Second Wind

  • Second wind is considered a minor action instead of a standard action. It still allows the character to spend a healing surge, but also gives them a +1 bonus to all defenses and attacks until the start of their next turn.

Action Points

  • Action points can be used to take immediate actions (i.e. Taking a hit for an adjacent ally, catching a falling friend, shooting a fleeing enemy, ect.). Whether or not an action can be taken is up to DM discretion.

Recharging Powers

  • Once a character has used all of his/her encounter powers, they may roll a d6 to recharge one. rolling a 6 means the power is recharged. This action can only be taken once per round.

Strikers strike harder

  • If a power allows for a character to add more dice to the damage roll, the player may choose to instead do the attack again. It must be the same attack. The more damage dice sacrificed the easier it is to crit. For every one die not rolled, the critical zone increases by 1 number. This is not mandatory, however, and they can still choose to stick with the extra dice option.
  • Example 1: a Rogue’s sneak attack ability allows them to add 2d6 to the damage roll. The Rogue can instead make the attack (s)he just made again. Since the rogue sacrificed 2 dice, (s)he will crit if (s)he rolls an 18-20.
  • Example 2: The ranger Hunter’s Quarry power let’s the add 1d6 to the damage roll. They may instead attack the the same attack that they just hit the target with. to hit a crit they need to roll a 19 or 20.

Flexibility is a skill too…

  • Not really. But the skills have flexibility. It’s kind of funny to see a half-orc with insane high strength (but low charisma) be unable to intimidate the little old lady to tell him where she keeps the gold. Or perhaps an incredibly wise (but not intelligent) cleric not be able to recall an important event in history that impacted the religious institution he belongs to. So in short, If a player can come up with a good reason as to why a skill check should be tied to a different skill, the DM may oblige. This rule is purely conditional.

Get initiative!

1. Before the start off the session, each player will roll 6 initiative rolls. A player (not the DM) will be assigned to record and keep track of each player’s rolls. When an encounter begins, the initiative tracker rolls 1d6 and read aloud the initiative order set that corresponds to the rolled number. The DM will insert the NPCs appropriately.

2. During the encounter, the tracker will also call out the player coming up next. That way, while the current turn is transpiring, the batter up can prepare a strategy.

3. When the player is finished with their turn, they must say, "I"m finished" or something along those lines so the tracker can say whose turn it is and who is in deck.

  • When a player make the finished statement, that’s that. No take backs to add an extra action. done is done.

Pre-rolling

  • If a player on deck has a prepared strategy, that they believe will not be affected by the current player’s turn, they may pre-roll their attacks and damage rolls and calculate all the appropriate information.

This is a privilege, on the first occurrence of any cheating this rule will be repealed.

house rules

That Which is Forgotten Frost72